This project is read-only.

How can I require that all arrays are disjoint?

Feb 18, 2011 at 6:06 AM

I am new to using VCC.  I was trying to write a verified version of memcpy().  However, VCC (very correctly) complains about the case where the two buffers overlap.  I can add requirements stating that the ranges should not overlap, but that gets very arduous to write for a large number of arrays.  Is there an easier way to specify this?  The code I really want to verify will be doing a lot of this kind of copying of values (or transformed values) from one collection to another; should i forgo arrays and move my collections to another representation?

Thanks.

Lewis

/* This is the version of memcpy with the buffer overlap restrictions */ 

void memcpy(unsigned char *dest, unsigned char *source, unsigned size)
	_(requires \thread_local_array(source, size))
	_(requires \thread_local_array(dest, size))
	_(requires (source < dest) || (source >= (dest + size)))
	_(requires (dest < source) || (dest >= (source + size)))
	_(writes \array_range(dest, size))
	_(ensures \forall unsigned i; i < size ==> dest[i] == source[i])
{
	unsigned int i;
	for (i = 0; i < size; i++)
		_(invariant \forall unsigned j; j < i ==> dest[j] == source[j])
	{
		dest[i] = source[i];
	}
}

Feb 18, 2011 at 10:50 AM
Edited Feb 18, 2011 at 10:51 AM

I'm no expert on this but I would assume that your requirements already imply that the arrays are disjoint. This is because of VCC's memory model where two typed objects (implied by \thread_local_array) never overlap. Someone may please correct me if I'm wrong here.

Nevertheless the typed memory model of VCC2 was actually introduced exactly because of these tiresome disjointness requirement annotations you had to insert in the first version of VCC.

What kind of error message do you get from VCC without the range assertions?

Feb 18, 2011 at 11:43 AM
Edited Feb 18, 2011 at 11:44 AM